Delish Modern Ozzie : Spring Restaurant Brisbane

Nestled on Felix Street in Brisbane’s CBD, Spring Restaurant provides an extensive Modern Australian menu but the general atmosphere feels as if you’ve stepped into a cute restaurant in the heart of Paris.

20131121_193606

The restaurant not only boasts an all natural produce bar but also various cooking classes ranging from Asian street food to ‘Dood’ food which can be booked online. Executive Chef Emlyn Thorrington offers simple and hearty meals which celebrate the changing seasons and reflect Queensland’s hinterland. The produce is fresh from Australia’s finest farms and vineyards.

20131121_193543

After pondering over the several mouthwatering choices I chose the Roast Dakota Vale chicken breast served on a bed of spiced cous cous lined with smoked tomato, roast capsicum, chilli and Barambah labnah. ($32)

I have to mention that the waitress who served me was very attentive and helpful. I had a hard time choosing which cocktail to have as the list was just as dreamy as the food choices. She recommended I try the French Garden Martini ($18) as I mentioned I wasn’t overly keen on sweet drinks. Every sip was better than the last and the fresh blueberries made it even better.

20131121_184541

I hardly order chicken breast meals when i’m out and about in fear of it being too dry or lacking in the flavor department and had cheekily mentioned this to my waitress. She assured me that it was one of the moistest things on the menu so I simply couldn’t resist. I enjoyed the multitude of herbed butters which were served on top of the chicken, giving it that extra kick. The portion size was decent and the only complaint that I have about this dish is that the cous cous was too sweet for my liking and not particularly ‘fluffy’.

20131121_184537

A short and sweet meal, I will be returning here very soon to sample their cooking classes and lunch menu.

Spring Restaurant Brisbane
26 Felix Street Brisbane (Cnr Mary and Felix)
+61 07 3229 0460

Leave a comment